Secret Love Affair Script: Episode 8 – Pots and Pans

Translator and Author: @seungshinl
Videos and Subtitles:
@blindd
Aired Dialogue Translation: Viki

Note: The following Script translation is in two parts, each with corresponding video.  Anything that is not dialogue, is the translation of the Script.


Introduction

Here is the translation of the Script of the “pots and pans” scene in Episode 8.  The Secret Love Affair Director and Writer team is known for not allowing much “ad-lib”.  This scene  is a great example of the fidelity of the Writer and the PD to the Script.  What we saw on the screen is pretty much what was written in the Script.


Pots and Pans

 

Scene 68. At Seon Jae’s Home

Below, only audio, no video.

SJ:  I might not be that good.

HW:  (quiet teasing chuckle) why…you said you are going to enjoy it till the end…you said that’s love.

SJ:  (embarrassed)…Seriously, why did I even say that?

HW:  Is this really your first time?

SJ:  Come to think of it, I don’t think it is.

HW:  You have to think, to know that?

SJ:  Well…last time, after listening to Liszt, when I hugged you…I’m sorry.

HW:  You had an inkling back then, didn’t you?  That I’m not a player.

SJ:  A little…

HW:  I might be worse than you are…

SJ:  I’ll decide on that…

HW:  (sounds like crying)

SJ:  …it’s ok…

Hye Won sounds as though she is crying.

Sun Jae is kissing Hye Won’s tears.

(Seon Jae) Becoming more worried…

SJ:  Let me know, if you’re uncomfortable.

HW:  No.

Hye Won’s quiet crying.

It is quiet but heated, more so because it is dark.

The walls, ceiling, desk, music sheets and clothes, the visible poverty in the room and Hae Won’s shoes, coat and hand bag.   Everything combined have closed their eyes for this couple, Hye Won and Seon Jae.

With careful heavy breathing they are feeling and touching each other.

Both breathless at the end of caring (making love).

Time passes, the light is soft.  Hye Won and Seon Jae are holding cans of beer sitting on the floor facing each other.  The back of Seon Jae’s shirt is wet from just having run back from  buying cans of beer.

Hye Won is leaning against the bed, with her knees up right.  

Seon Jae is sitting cross-legged in front of the piano.

HW:  I thought you didn’t drink.

SJ:  Who said so?

HW:  When did you learn to drink?

SJ:  When i was in Grade 11 my teacher taught me.  There was a lot of rough kids in my school.  They never cut kids like me any slack. They would hold both my arms from each side and pour down soju and beer in my mouth.   When I fainted after that, my teacher paid me a visit with kaoliang wine.  So I can learn.

HW: That’s wild.

SJ:  What about you?

HW:  I did everything properly, like a fox…I may have been a forty year old from the moment I was born.  

SJ:  (looks at HW)

HW:  (one sip of beer) When you’re forty, I will be sixty.

SJ:  Wow.  Slamming, isn’t it?

Sun Jae jumps up and takes out a book of music sheets ‘Mozart Sonata’ and shows the cover to Hye Won.  On the cover is a photo of Madame Maria João Pires”

SJ:  You will end up like this.

HW: (startled) Madame Maria.  For Mozart, is that Unnie’s your textbooks?

SJ:  Mostly (places the book on the piano stand).

HW:  (looking at the book) To have a facial expression like that at the age of 60, how does one need to live?

SJ:  (sits back down and grabs his beer) You will be prettier (more beautiful).

HW:  (Well) That’s possible.  If I were to pamper myself with money and energy (time)…But the facial expression pretty much (is half of what) shapes the face…thoughts, sensitivities, like that.  

SJ:  I still think you’ll look gorgeous.  Even your brain’s sexy.

HW:  Don’t you find it hard to keep a straight face when you say things like that?  Don’t you get goosebumps?

SJ:  Is that weird?

HW:  They feel like lies…

SJ:  Then what feels real?

HW:  “It’s jang taeng (slang for all that matters).”  “Slave or whatever.”  Seriously, “without even shoving alcohol down my throat,” “Are you giving me the shaft?”…things (sayings) like those.

SJ:  Then how about this?

HW:  What?

SJ:  Hae-Won Ah.

HW:  Oh yeah? (straightens her leg and kicks his knee).

SJ:  (avoids her foot) (You know) a woman’s feet weaken me.

HW: (kicks again) a woman’s feet?

SJ:  Oh Hye Won’s feet! (He jumps at her).

HW: Hey !

The two become passionate again.  It’s different than before, they are happy and playful on the bed.

SJ:  Are you ok?


Will Love Change Her?

 

The time passes, Hye Won is lying on the bed looking serene.  Seon Jae is playing the piano.

The time passes, Seon Jae is sleeping in bed.

The time passes, it’s early morning,  in Seon Jae’s washroom.

Hye Won has changed into her own clothes and is finishing herself up in front of the mirror in the washroom.

Hye Won turns around after looking at sleeping Seon Jae.

Hye Won puts on her shoes.

69. In front of Seon Jae’s home

HW:  (coming out of the house carefully, speaking quietly) Yes, Madame Chairwoman.  Yes, I am leaving now…

Scene 70. In Seon Jae’s home

Seon Jae wakes up abruptly and stands.

SJ: (sad and fearful awakening. Will her life change because I love her?…)

End of Episode 8

9 thoughts on “Secret Love Affair Script: Episode 8 – Pots and Pans”

  1. “The back of Seon Jae’s shirt is wet from just having run back from buying cans of beer.”

    it’s not a wet spot… it’s the t-shirt logo.. i know because i watched the full HD version.. haha…

    Liked by 1 person

      1. When it first aired and everyone was saying his shirt was wet, I kept thinking, but it’s a logo. So when I saw that in the script I was, huh? I don’t know if they’re mutually exclusive though. I’m going to go back and grab a pic of it and post at some point.

        Like

    1. By the way, I love the “cover page” right at the beginning b4 the clip starts where the credits are mentioned. Feel so proud that we can have our own production! Haha.

      Do we have a logo btw? Perhaps we shd have one on all your production? That’ll be really neat!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you @ktomato. We just wanted people who click on the YT to be able to find us at this site! So should we use caterpillar or tomato?

        Like

Reply